Sacred Space in Sandtown-Winchester, West Baltimore

During my travels in West Baltimore yesterday, I came across this peaceful little plot of land after first noticing the wonderful wall mural that overlooks it.  I just had to stop and take a few photos. Little did I know that I would discover something truly unique.

arlington3faces

I love this painting. In a way it’s “incompleteness” is a reminder of why this little space exists. This park at the corner of N. Arlington and Small Street is a Sacred Space dedicated to Baltimore’s Children that have been lost to violence. Lives incomplete and unfulfilled. If you’ve followed my blog at all, you will note that this isn’t the only one of these parks in West Baltimore.arlingtonstoneIt’s a poorly cropped photo, I apologize.

I noted that there is a park bench there and there was some kind of compartment at the bottom of it. Upon closer inspection I found that it contained a book. A journal, actually.arlingtonbencharlingtonjournalAnd here is a page from that journal.arlingtonthoughts

“Home is where the heart is…my home is definitely haunted”.

There is also this stone marker that is stark and beautiful all the same.arlingtonobeliskFor as much as I treasure these safe, sacred spaces, I long for a day that they would become a relic.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in art, Baltimore, Baltimore Neighborhoods, Blogging, Carberry, Greenspaces, Maryland, md, Memorial Gardens, photography, Public Art, Sandtown-Winchester, statues and monuments, Uncategorized, Urban Art, West Baltimore and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sacred Space in Sandtown-Winchester, West Baltimore

  1. Pingback: Sacred Space in Sandtown-Winchester, West Baltimore – Ron Belmont

Leave a Reply

