Paying it Forward Baltimore Style

money

You see that? That’s 30 bucks. I received that 30 bucks from a gentleman as thanks for finding his cell phone on the street.

About a month ago I was running errands on Saint Paul street and as I stepped out of my car, I saw a Samsung cell phone lying on the street just inside the curb. It was fairly obvious that someone had let it fall out of their pocket.

I gave it the once over and decided to send the last person that had sent the owner a text, a text back. I was hoping that maybe they would have a way of letting the owner know that I had found it. In that text, I let them know that I was going to turn the phone into the Eddie’s supermarket that is on that block.  I drop it off there and just continue on with my day.  A couple of days later, I’m in the Eddie’s doing a little shopping and the manager, Jason(of Jason and the Moon Mites, fame) tracked me down and let me know that the owner of the phone had indeed picked it up and left me a cash reward as thanks. Yup, it’s that 30 bucks you see up top.

The cash was nice but I figured that it would be far better to have that money serve a greater purpose. So I have donated that cash to my favorite charitable organization in West Baltimore, Jubilee Arts. Here is the link to their website http://arts.jubileeartsbaltimore.org/

Check out their website and maybe consider sending them a few dollars so that they can continue doing the awesome work they do.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Carberry, Giving Tuesday, Jubilee Arts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paying it Forward Baltimore Style

  1. Every single bit of this is beautiful.

  2. Pingback: Paying it Forward Baltimore Style – Ron Belmont

Leave a Reply

