Two Toynbee Tiles Near Lexington Market-New??

NewToynbeeDuoI was at Lexington Market yesterday and as I was walking back to my car that was parked at 300 North Eutaw St. and as I was crossing the street I saw what I thought were two pieces of paper laying very still. The writing got my attention and then it dawned on me that I was looking at a Toynbee Tile.  Not one, but actually two!

I have seen Toynbee Tiles before in NYC and of course here but I have never seen two, together before.  Seeing these got me thinking about what I believe to the best compendium of Toynbee Tiles information, Tom Warner’s Baltimore Or Less. So I went back and read it again, figuring that I would see a reference to these two tiles. I scanned through it a couple of times and there is information about all of the Baltimore tiles but I couldn’t find an exact reference to the two pictured above.  There is reference to a tile at Eutaw St and Franklin St, by H&H camping supply and there is a reference to another tile near that location, but there is no mention of two tiles being together.

I’ve read the tiles and the ‘sidebar’ messages appear to be the same as the messages on two of the other Baltimore tiles, but they certainly don’t seem to be exact copies, meaning, it appears that they were all cut ‘freehand’ and no stencil was used.

Anyway, let me give you the link to Tom’s blog. http://www.baltimoreorless.com/2014/05/the-toynbee-tiles-file/

Now in Tom’s blog he has the trailer to an incredible documentary, Resurrect Dead: The Mystery of the Toynbee Tiles. As a matter of fact, I’m watching it now on YouTube. In Tom’s blog he mentions that it’s available on NetFlix but Netflix didn’t have it, nor did Hulu or Amazon, but YouTube does have it and it is fascinating! Also, it’ll cost you $2.99 to rent.  It’s easier to find Toynbee Tiles than it is to watch the documentary. I jest, of course.

Let’s look at them close up!NewToynbeeYouMustThis tile says(warning:offensive language) “HITMEN FROM VENEZUELA + CUBA FAILED TO MURDER ME TWICE SO THEY SENT A FAGGOT CELL TO TO MURDER MY MOTHER  LAY TILE ALONE FEDS”  Bizarre, right?!

Here’s the other tile,NewToynbeeCavemanThis tile says, “A REAL RESURRECTION IS EASY AND IS PROVED BY FIRST CAVEMAN WHO MADE GENUS TOOLS”

This whole story is far more amazing than I can do justice to, but if you are all interested, read the blog that I posted the link to, and make sure you click on the youtube link in that blog, or just go to Youtube yourself and do a search for “Resurrect Dead”  If you like real life mysteries, I guarantee that you will enjoy it!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in A. Aubrey Bodine, baltimore, Baltimore Or Less, Baltimore Toynbee Tiles, Blogging, Documentary, Eutaw Street, Films, Resurrect Dead, Toynbee Tiles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

