Baltimore Boy Wishes His Fellow Marines a Happy Birthday!

November 10th is the Birthday of the United States Marine Corps and November 11th is Veterans’ Day. I’m pretty darn sure that a lot of the people that follow or read my blog don’t know that I served in the United States Marine Corps.  Admittedly, many people have a hard time believing that I was in the Marines. I guess my penchant for breaking into show tunes or my love of John Waters’ and Jean Luc Godard movies, kinda makes folks think that I couldn’t have possibly been a Devil Dog.

Jeez, can you see that zit on my face?

But the fact that I’m kinda of an “artsy” guy is proof that the people that volunteer to do the often dangerous work of defending our country are just that; people.  We have different joys, interests,flaws, desires, fears and loves just like anyone.  It’s also crucial to remember that many people didn’t have the luxury of choosing to volunteer.  Regardless of how they felt about their world, they were drafted into service.  Please… this Veterans’ Day, take a moment to acknowledge how fortunate we all are. We have the freedom to be the people that we want to be. I would also ask you to consider choosing to lend a hand to those less fortunate.  Let compassion for your fellow man be the way you honor the memory of our Nation’s Fallen.

Then go sing some show tunes.

Semper Fi!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in art, baltimore, Charitable Organizations, Jean-Luc Godard, John Waters, United States Marine Corps, Veterans' Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

