Hey America….You’re Welcome!

Over the years, when I have found myself talking about the War of 1812 with people that are not from Baltimore(which happened 2 maybe 3 times) I, of course, relished the opportunity to inform those fine folks that the British, after burning Washington DC, moved on to Baltimore.  The British ground forces were beaten at the Battle of North Point(lotta folks don’t know that) and we all know that the British Navy bombarded Baltimore’s Ft.McHenry and that’s how we got that awesome song known as the Star Spangled Banner.

I would often end that discussion by saying something smarmy like, “Oh yeah, don’t forget to thank Baltimore for saving the Nation.”

I’m just obnoxious sometimes.  Anyway, this quote sums up what I was trying to say, far more eloquently than I ever could.  It’s part of the amazing Ft. McHenry National Historic site.  If you plan on visiting Baltimore, please, please, please go visit this National Treasure!  If you live in the region, go visit today!!  I’ll stop yammering, here’s the quote:

I love that it's from a newspaper called The Yankee that was published in Boston, said the Baltimore Orioles fan

I love that it’s from a newspaper called The Yankee that was published in Boston, said the Baltimore Orioles fan.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

