My Baltimore Books

I am consistently threatening to do a whole bunch of blogs about every book I have that is Baltimore-themed. Much to my chagrin, I have failed to follow through on this.

Other than flea markets, Normal’s Books&Records in Waverly is probably the best place to buy the greatest variety of Charm City books. Let’s give them a visual plug, shall we?

 

Before I go any further, it seems that WordPress has seen fit to change the format and method of uploading images so I hope that this isn’t a wasted effort.  Let’s soldier on.

On my last visit to Normal’s I found this book, “The Buried Rose” by a Baltimore native named Sidney L. Nyburg. I am now going to try to upload another image.

It’s a collection of nearly-novella length stories that report on the problems of fairly well-to-do Baltimoreans around the time of the War of 1812.  The book was published by Knopf in 1932 and the copy I bought is a fourth printing from 1948, so there was a definite appeal to this book for many readers. Nyburg’s style is a little wordy and I’m guessing he wrote it with elongated, dramatic flourishes in hopes of mirroring the speech styles of the time depicted.  I did a search for Sidney Nyburg and found that he lived from 1880 to 1958 and that he was a lawyer that also happened to be a five-time novelist.  His most well-known work is titled, “The Chosen Ones” and is his only work that concerns itself with the experiences of the Jewish population of Baltimore.

But the real reason I’m writing this blog about this book is all due to the bookmark I found in it.  The bookmark is a very simple business card sized page holder.  Since I have no idea if the photo I took of it will actually attach to this blog, I will let you know that in the upper left corner of the card it says in iconic script, ‘HUTZLER’S Baltimore’.  In the center of the card, is the simple inscription, “Best Wishes, Peg”

Was Peg a gift-giver of this book? Was Peg an employee of Baltimore landmark department store, Hutzler’s?  That’s what my guess is, anyway.

I think it’s just the coolest thing.  This tiny glimpse of 1940’s Baltimore.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in 1940's, baltimore, baltimore history, life, literature, maryland history, md, media, Shopping, Sidney L. Nyburg, society, The Buried Rose, Used Books, War of 1812. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Baltimore Books

  1. Walter Stromquist says:

    Did you know that Sidney Nyburg was related to Hutzler’s Department Store?

    Sidney’s mother’s mother was Sarah Bamberger Lauer, an immigrant from Bavaria. Her brother Elkan Bamberger married Theresa Hutzler, whose parents were owners of the store in its early years.

    So when Sidney visited the store, he must have felt a family connection.

    Elkan and Theresa’s children included Louis Bamberger and Caroline Bamberger Fuld—who were therefore first cousins of Sidney’s mother. They built up Bamberger’s Department Store in Newark, NJ, sold it to Macy’s, and then became the founding donors of the Institute for Advanced Studies at Princeton.

    I don’t know who Peg was, though.

Leave a Reply

