I Wonder if The Owners of This Chinese Food Carry-out are Fans of “Volunteers”, Like me?!

I have been living near the Alameda Shopping Center for two years now, and I drive past it twice a day, five days a week so that means I get to giggle to myself every stinking time I see this sign;ImageYup, Chung Mee, just like the Cambodian Drug Lord in the movie, “Volunteers”, starring Tom Hanks and John Candy.  That’s right…this guy!

Image“Volunteers” is one of my favorite movies that I haven’t seen in a long time.  It came out in the 80’s and I can’t recall how it was critically received or how it did at the box office but my buddies and me, we thought it was great!  My brother, Sean loves it, too.  It’s probably my favorite Tom Hanks movie and it is DEFINITELY my favorite John Candy film.  Here’s the poster.Image“Volunteers” is wonderfully quotable and it’s the movie that Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson met on, so there is a bit of trivia for you.  Remember the guy that played, ‘Dong’ in John Hughes’ “Sixteen Candles”? That’s right, Gedde Watanabe.  Well he’s in it too!  He definitely has some of the best dialogue.

Anyway, I see this sign everyday and it makes me happy, because I love this movie.  Maybe I should stop by and get some dinner sometime? 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

