Why, oh, Why is Rick Moranis’ Photo Hanging at Costas’ Inn??

I’ve been enjoying meals at Baltimore’s Costas’ Inn for a few years now.  It really is a bit of an oasis on North Point Blvd as that thoroughfare is sparsely populated.  By that I mean, there are a couple strip joints on the way to the Historic Battle of Northpoint area.  The food is consistently better than typical diner fare.  They get their hands on some good-sized crabs and they also do some real yummy blackened sea-scallops.The walls are covered in Horse racing memorabilia and the obligatory Orioles heroes type of stuff but in the vestibule they have a bunch of celebrity photos, all of which are autographed.  Some of the photos are glamour shot types but some of them show said celebrities actually in Costas’. They’ve got Oscar Winner and Baltimore native, Barry Levinson, Kathie Lee Gifford and Hoda Kotb(Kathie Lee LOVES their crabcakes!)  Most striking is the photo of Rick Moranis.  In the photo, he is smiling and posing with the staff.  The pic has got to be from at least 20 years ago.

This photo is striking, to me at least , because I cannot imagine why in the world Rick Moranis is at Costas’ Inn?!? Also, I tended bar at a restaurant in New York City in the 90’s and Rick ordered food to go from me, often.  So I got to wait on a guy that I kinda idolized during my teen years. My brother, Sean and I watched SCTV religiously. So I found it kind of weird that for as funny and creative as Rick is, I never saw the guy smile.  He did brighten up a bit when I would turn on a hockey game. What a zany Canadian!

I totally get that celebrities don’t have to be “on” all the time.  I’m a former professional comedian and I certainly don’t ‘feel’ funny all the time.  So no hard feelings toward Rick at all.

But I am still dying to know how and why he ended up at Costas’ Inn.  Maybe he heard that the crab cakes were amazing and he just had to make a trip down from NYC and that, above all, made the normally dour Rick Moranis….happy.

Rick Moranis at Costas Inn, Baltimore, MD

Rick Moranis at Costas Inn, Baltimore, MD

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in baltimore, Baltimore restaurants, baseball memorabilia, horse racing, life, TV history, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

