Meet Monty! Lake Montebello’s Sea Monster

ImageOkay.  This actually isn’t Monty, but he is a cutie, right?!  Anna and I have been marveling at the amount of Turtle-action there is at Lake Montebello.  I have been running around this Baltimore landmark for years and had never seen turtles before.  Geese, Ducks, Seagulls, that kind of stuff, but no Maryland Terrapins as it were.  Last month, during the first warmer days of the Spring, Anna and I went to the lake and saw nine different turtles sunning themselves on rocks.

A couple of weeks ago I saw turtles again, so today, when we went there for a run, I actually took my phone so that I could take a pic if we saw some of these zany creatures.  As soon as we got there we saw one! Great! I just grabbed the phone, took this shot, put the phone back in the car and we began our trot.  About a quarter of the way around, we two more.  While enjoying these two, I saw a dark shadow moving under the jade colored water.  I watched it for a bit and pointed it out to Anna and then this big Ol’ Turtle pops its’ big Ol’ head out of the water.  It was probably 2 feet long and about a foot wide and where all the turtles we’ve been seeing have squarish mustard colored designs on their shells, this one was decidedly solid dark green or black.  He was not only bigger, he was just different looking…kinda menacing. 

He dove back down and swam a bit and then resurfaced.  He did this two more times and we were just fascinated.  We were stopping families and making them look.  We are full-on turtle geeks.  So i named him, Monty, the Monster of Lake Montebello!

Of course, this means I’m going to have to go to the Lake for the sole purpose of looking for him so I can take some photos of him.  Eat your heart out, Nessie!Image

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

