Goodbye, Fatso. My Baltimore Books.

I have dreaded this day.  I have just learned that one of the all-time great Baltimoreans has passed away, Art Donovan.

Like so many other old-school Baltimore people, I got a chance to meet and know Art and bask in the coolness that he exuded.  I had to stock Schlitz at McCafferty’s,  the fancy pants restaurant that I managed just so he could have a few cold ones with his steak.  When I lived in New York City, I met and became friends with his son, Art Jr. and when I made trips back home to the Holy Land, i.e. Baltimore; thank you Mr. Raphael Alvarez, I would catch up with Arthur and “Little Art” and even enjoyed a hot dog or two with them.  Good memories.  Real, Baltimore memories.

So in keeping with one of my promised themes of my blog, namely doing the occasional post about one the “Baltimore Books” in my personal library, I will merely share this photo of Arts’ book, “FATSO”.  I’ve read it a few times and it was a salve for homesickness when I lived in NYC.Image

So Art, Rest in Peace, Semper Fidelis and go have a drink with Bobby Layne.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

