I See Dead Sort of Famous People! Betsy Patterson Bonaparte

So here’s a little more from my visit to Baltimore’s Greenmount Cemetery.  Anyone that reads my blog with any regularity knows that I managed to accidentally discover and become obsessed with the Family Cemetery Plot of the powerful Patterson family.  I still haven’t been able to get inside the place, but trust me, I will.

Something else that is really interesting about that plot is the exclusion of arguably the MOST famous of the Patterson family, Betsy Patterson Bonaparte.

Betsy is even more famous lately because the Maryland Historical Society has prepared an extensive exhibit celebrating her life.  A life, that if she were alive today would probably get its’ own reality TV show.

                                ImageBeautiful, isn’t she?

She made her father, William Patterson, crazy, primarily due to her romance with Napoleon’s brother, Jerome. Oddly enough, Napoleon was none too fond of Betsy!  Can’t we all just get along?

When Betsy died, she was interred in Greenmount and not in the family plot so here’s Betsy’s Gravestone.

                                                  Image

It doesn’t show up in this photo I snapped but at the bottom of the grave it says, “After Life’s Fitful Fever, She Sleeps Well”   How cool is that?!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I See Dead Sort of Famous People! Betsy Patterson Bonaparte

  1. Interesting post! I love all the historical tidbits and gossip. Is the exhibition still at the Maryland Historical Society? I’m off now to check out their website. I love your site, by the name. Now I’m homesick for Baltimore and Patterson Park. Sigh! Theadora

Leave a Reply

