Stonehenge of the Herring Run

A few months ago, I went for a run from my Northeast Baltimore neighborhood of Original Northwood toward Lauraville.  My route took me over the bridge that spans the Herring Run that extends between Morgan State University and Harford Rd.  While crossing the bridge I looked down onto the water, flora and fauna that lie over 100 feet below and I noticed that someone had arranged rocks into a message.  A message of love, no less!  I thought that it was funny and cool and told myself that I would come back and snap a picture and write a blog about it.  I just thought it neat and romantic that someone would take the time to climb down from Argonne Drive, find all these white rocks of similar size and arrange them into, I LOVE YOU ERIN!!

Of course, I forgot to return to take a photo and kind of forgot about it.  So I go for another run a few weeks later, following that same route.  I cross the bridge again, look down and I’m surprised to see that the rock formation is still there and even more surprised to see that the message had been changed.  It read, I LOVE YOU ERICA!  Wow!  Somebody is really industrious AND fickle!  Of course, I still forgot about 100 times of driving over that bridge to stop and take a photo.  So today I was driving over the bridge and remembered to stop and just see if the rock message was still there.  Not only was it there but it had been changed again! I took a series of photos, check’em out!ImageIt’s pretty high up so I zoomed in a little.

ImageI LOVE YOU MIRA!!  They even made an emoticon smiley face! I love that the name keeps changing.  Maybe it is one person, but it is a lot of rocks and you do have to carefully make your way down from the roadway OR access it from Herring Run Park which means that whoever it is, has no problem walking through the more wooded parts of the park.  I just think it’s cool and I hope that whoever is doing this, keeps it up for a long time.  It’s just a good bit of Baltimore weirdness that reminds me of my favorite line from John Waters, ‘Pecker’; “Life is nothing without obsession.”

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

