Art&Heart@Greenmount and 26th Street

In my never ending quest to document the amazing urban art of Baltimore City, I often become frustrated because I have so little time to photograph my finds.  I have to log in my teeny little mind where the art is and try to plan to revisit as soon as I can.  I’ve driven past murals 20 times before stopping to snap a pic. I get a little frustrated with myself, I must say.

In the 2600 block of Greenmount Avenue is a wall mural of a robot-doll looking Ronald McDonald and I have been dying to photograph this thing.  Well today was the day.  All around this part of Greenmount is art and before I go any further I am gonna spoil the fun by letting you know that I FORGOT to photograph ol’ Ronnie Mc.  I greeted a woman sitting on her stoop and we struck up a conversation about art and city living and community activism and all those things that get my motor revved up.

It turns out this woman’s name is Tamm E. Hunt and she is a fairly well-known jazz singer.  Here is a photo of her in action.

Tamm E. Hunt performing

Tamm E. Hunt performing

She told me that she has recently authored a book about Jazz&Blues in Baltimore.  Pretty cool.  She went on to tell me about the green spaces that she has adopted on her street.  She is trying to do some planting in those lots and they are looking pretty good.  She is very excited about some repurposed sinks that have been turned into planters.  Check’em out!

Fun, right?!

Fun, right?!

Tamm E. and I exchanged emails and I am gonna try to help out with the greenspaces.  Now how about some of that art?! This one I call Plywood Angel.

The wings are painted but the body is plain plywood. I LOVE it!

The wings are painted but the body is plain plywood. I LOVE it!

This one is about 8 feet across and faces the Robot Ronald McDonald(YES I forgot to shoot it!!)

I mean, that is wonderful.

I mean, that is wonderful.

The next two I call Heartbreak Bunny(new name of the band) and Greenmount Snowball.greenmountheartbreakbunny

This is the freakin' best!

This is the freakin’ best!

So I promise to go back soon and photograph the Robot Ronald McDonald, Oh, and if anyone knows the name of the artists displayed here, lemme know!

 

 

 

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in art, art history, baltimore, Baltimore City Council, Baltimore Neighborhoods, Carberry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art&Heart@Greenmount and 26th Street

  1. albuquerque red says:

    I really like the “Greenmount Snowball” one too! Keep an eye out for these guys if you want to see some new stuff going up soon… I think this project is going to be pretty amazing, mixing street art, anti-slumlord activism and an original documentary film:

    http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/wallhunters-the-slumlord-project?c=home

    Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

