Jacques Kelly to the Rescue!!

Baltimore Sun

Baltimore Sun’s Finest

I know that all of you are dying to know how my investigation into the nomenclature of the mystery structure I blogged about yesterday is going.  Well my main man, Jacques Kelly came through in the clutch.  I sent him an email today and within hours he responded.  I have to admit, he was a bit smug, saying, “this one’s easy”.  I kid. No smuggery at all.  The man knows his stuff and I feel vindicated in that I believed in my gut that it was a private family cemetery.  It is actually the Patterson Family Cemetery.  Yes, the famous-Patterson Park-is-named-after-them-Pattersons.

But Jacques made sure to note that Betsy Patterson Bonaparte is not buried there.  Wild child, Betsy is buried in Greenmount Cemetery, if I recall properly. Let’s check her out!

Betsy Patterson Bonaparte

The Three Faces of Betsy

So if I may, since the Patterson’s were so affluent and powerful, her marrying of Jerome Bonaparte is arguably analogous to a Kennedy marrying a member of the British Royal family.  Of course, Baltimore ladies are always stealing the hearts of foreign monarchs, cue the Wallis Simpson photo!

Cover of TIME. Not bad for a crabtown girl.

Cover of TIME. Not bad for a crabtown girl.

And let us not forget to throw up an image of big Bill.  Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. William Patterson:

Oh that daughter of mine!!!

Oh that daughter of mine!!!

Man, that’s a big painting!  Okay now here’s the thing; I know that it’s the Patterson Family Plot and I know that Betsy isn’t in there, but is William in there? Is Mrs. Patterson in there?  If so, I really feel that there has to be some kind of historical marker saying so.  Maybe, it’s for all the little Pattersons.

Now I have to contact Baltimore City and see if it’s being taken care of.  The area around it could definitely use some love.  Sounds like a new crusade for BaltimoreBoy!!  Here’s one more look at the gate.

Front gate to Patterson Family Cemetery, Baltimore, MD

Front gate to Patterson Family Cemetery, Baltimore, MD

 

 

 

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in baltimore, Baltimore City Council, baltimore history, Baltimore Neighborhoods, Baltimore Sun Newspaper, british history, british royalty, celebrities, maryland historical society, maryland history, md, society, statues and monuments, time magazine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

