Fishbone ROCKS! BaltimoreBoy’s Cellphone Camera SUCKS!

It took 30 years but I finally got to see the legendary Fishbone in concert and they did not disappoint.  These guys have been creating some of the most energetic and diverse music that has ever been created.  They played Baltimore’s Ram’s Head Live and they place was full of people like me, i.e. mid-40’s aging punk rocker types.  There was also a lot of younger people which was great for the energy of the place.  Not that ‘bone needed any more energy, I mean..Jay, the trombone player was the stage divingest trombonist in the world!  Lead singer, Angelo must have jumped off the stage into the crowd at least 3 times.  It was raucous and diabolical and if you are already a Fishbone fan than I’m probably not telling you anything that you don’t already know.

An added bonus was the presence of none other than HR of Bad Brains. He was walking around the club before the show dressed in 70’s Blaxploitation Pimp glory.  To complete the look, he was carrying a copy of the Bible.  I didn’t even know it was him until early in the show, he joined them onstage and Angelo introduced him. He even sang a tune!  Well, more like slightly crooned one but still, it was HR, man.  I knew he was hanging in Baltimore the past couple of years so it was a blast to see him onstage.  It reminded me of the time, many years ago; late 80’s or early 90’s when I saw Thelonius Monster at Max’s on Broadway when they still had live music there.  I kept seeing this white, dreadlocked guy running around the club and then they introduced him-it was Keith Morris of the Circle Jerks and Black Flag. He jumped onstage and sang, “White Minority”.  As promised in the title, I took some blurry, tiny photos with my cell phone-they totally suck but what the hell.  Here’s one of HR onstage.

I against I against I against I...

I against I against I against I…

That figure behind HR is Angelo. He was wearing a man-sized onesie. A ONESIE!!  It even had a gimp mask attached!  Norwood was wearing a Fishbone onesie.  They’re just big kids at heart.  And I couldn’t get over how easily Angelo manhandled a gargantuan bass saxophone.  Is that a thing? A bass saxophone. It was freakin’ huge. Here’s a very blurry photo of him and it.

It's a big'un!

It’s a big’un!

And the opening act was pretty damned cool, as well.  Joe Keyes and the Late Bloomer Band.  Joe’s kind of a Parliament Funkadelic inspired dude.  He’s got a band of 20 somethings that wail and they are from Maryland, so good on them for getting this gig.  They had a lot of people there to see them, so that is cool.  They also have 7 horns.  7!  Here’s a poorly focused shot of them getting it done.

Count those horns...that's right, 7.

Count those horns…that’s right, 7.

Hell, you can’t even see all 7 of the horns.

If you are interested in getting into the Fishbone story some more, here is a link to the documentary about their interesting career.  I missed it when it was here in Baltimore.  In closing,  I wish all y’all some Everyday Sunshine.      http://www.fishbonedocumentary.com/

 

 

 

 

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in celebrities, life, Music, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

