Old West Baltimore Architectural Stalwarts

I went to H&H Camping Supplies to buy some boots for the cold weather and if I were truly a good and just man, I would be writing a blog about how amazing H&H is.  A total throwback kind of place.  One thing I will note is that the older, Black gentleman who sits in the basement showroom seems to be only greeting customers and guarding an original Earl the Pearl Monroe poster.  If you need cold weather/camping gear go to H&H.  ‘Nuff said.

When I was done there I made sure to get up close on some of my favorite buildings in West Baltimore.  The first would be the building for Charles Fish&Sons that I always remembered to be a uniform company.  They may  in fact have been a uniform company but I found out that when they opened, the business dealt both furniture and clothing.  The building itself was originally built in the 1840’s and was originally the Baltimore Dental College.  The building has this amazing black marble facade that has the name, Charles Fish & Sons etched into it and I guess it’s what would be called Art-Deco even though it technically proceeded the Art-Deco era by many years. I think.  I’m not an Art and Architecture expert. Let’s check it out!

The delivery door even has a porthole!!

The delivery door even has a porthole!!

Now let’s take a look at the long defunct, Mayfair theatre.  It opened in 1880 and closed in 1986 and apparently was quite the beautiful showplace in its’ day.  The roof fell in in 1992 I think and if I ever find myself with untold millions, I’m gonna buy it.  Once again, the roof is gone so it would have to be a crap load of money.

So beautiful, all lit up by the winter sun

So beautiful, all lit up by the winter sun

Now check out this part of the marquee that has a damaged portrait of Billie Holliday.

Maybe I can just buy this half panel

Maybe I can just buy this half panel.

There is so much of Baltimore that is falling down so beautifully.   I could stare at it for hours.  Sometimes I do.

 

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old West Baltimore Architectural Stalwarts

  1. Tom says:

    Scott, I work down the street from H&H and it truly IS amazing; while the hipsters flock to the galleries above the H&H, the camping store itself is like a time warp into Baltimore’s past. I remember checking out the tents in the basement and accidentally kicked one – there was a homeless guy taking a nap in there! And yes, the Mayfair art was nice – John Ellsberry was behind that. I actually remember when that movie theater was open – used to play kung-fu and exploitation flicks, and I remember they had a parking lot in the alley that we used to park out for Marble Bar/Galaxy shows. If it was still open, DJANGO would play there for sure.

Leave a Reply

