Dorothy Maul? Public Art on North Broadway, Baltimore, MD

I had an amazing lunch at Thames Street Oyster House in Fells Point today and really, if you haven’t been, you really should go.  If for no other reason than to sample an incredible array of oysters from all over the country.  Good Stuff!

So anyway, I was driving home on Broadway, noting, along the way that Mayor Rawlings-Blake’s “Vacants to Value” program seems to be in full swing.  Many banged out yet still beautiful 3 story rowhomes are in flux.  Some, obviously have been taken over by new and hopefully lifelong owners, many still in the process of falling down.  One of the houses that is in the process of falling down had this amazing art on its’ side.  I had to stop the car and snap a couple of shots.

Dramatic, yes?

Dramatic, yes?

I love how the shadow of the tree and its’ branches bisect the photo.  Now call me crazy, doesn’t this portrait look a little like Darth Maul from Star Wars, Episode something or other?  All smarminess aside, I LOVE this!  This woman’s face is full of anger and distrust.  It’s like a photo that you would see in National Geographic or a scene from a documentary of a war torn nation. Somedays, that war torn nation is Baltimore.  Here is a slightly closer look.

Even angrier.

Even angrier.

I mentioned in previous blogs that I would be featuring more public art that I found around Baltimore and I am going to keep on doing it.  Seek it out for yourselves.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dorothy Maul? Public Art on North Broadway, Baltimore, MD

  1. Tom says:

    I think I’ve waited on that woman at the library. Never thought of her as iconic, now I will!

Leave a Reply

