The Best Diner in Baltimore That You Don’t Know About

I’m a good Baltimore Boy, so when we moved into our house in Original Northwood, we set out to patronize as many of the local businesses that we could.  So this means that we hit Clementine(well we’ve hit that before we moved into the ‘hood) as well as Clementine’s awesome farm-to-table grocery store, The Green Onion.  We’ve done Koco’s and Toulouou.  Touloulou’s pizza is diabolical, by the way. Suffice it to say, if I can find it near my house, I buy it near my house.

During my travels around the Hamilton, Lauraville, Northwood area I noticed a little place that is easy to miss if you’re not paying attention. It’s called Lost in the 50’s Diner.  It’s just east of the Green Onion at 5512 Harford Rd. and it’s wonderful.  I kept meaning to stop by and managed to keep not stopping by but I finally popped in and availed myself of some yummy. Let’s see if WordPress has fixed the picture placement problem that it’s had in my last couple of blogs.

Yes...I PIGGED out! Omelet and pancakes.

Yes…I PIGGED out! Omelet and pancakes.

So it looks like WordPress DID fix it. Okay, so anyway, it was kinda slow when I was there and I got to speak to the owner, a lovely woman named, Angeliqe.  She bought the diner about four years ago and worked really hard to outfit it with real cool old-school diner accoutrements and I feel bad because my crappy little camera on my phone isn’t going to do the place justice.  Let’s see how they look.

Here's a lame photo of a good menu

Here’s a lame photo of a good menu

Long shotgun style dining room. Booths and stools just like it's supposed to be.

Long shotgun style dining room. Booths and stools just like it’s supposed to be.

And she made sure to keep and/or get the older Seeburg booth jukeboxes.

Sorry it's so dark but you can see it, right?

Sorry it’s so dark but you can see it, right?

I was even impressed with the counter, check out this stupid idea for a photo…

i just thought that upclose that it looks like a Jackson Pollock painting.

i just thought that upclose it looks like a Jackson Pollock painting.

The food, if I haven’t mentioned it, is delicious.  In even the “best” diners, the hashbrown/homefries are often an afterthought and poorly designed window dressing.  The side of taters you get with an omelet at Lost in the 50’s are crisp and flavorful.  The Western omelet I had today was perfect.  I look forward to working my way through more of the menu.

I will close with the following advice; if you are a film crew and you are looking for an authentic looking diner, check out this place.  Your art department will have to do very little to dress the set for the shoot.

http://lostinthe50sbaltimore.com/

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

