Baltimore’s Amazing Public Art

I have, in my mind, written at least 50 blogs about all of the amazing art that can be found all around Baltimore.  I am referring to stuff that in some cases would be considered graffiti.  In some cases it is indeed commissioned work and in many cases it is not.  I saw this two days ago on Greenmount Avenue, about a block south of the main gate of Greenmount Cemetery.

Who painted this?? Who does it depict?

My crappy camera phone thing doesn’t really capture how cool this is or how big it is, but it’s on the side of a warehouse and I’ve cropped out a billboard to the left.  Go down Greenmount and check it out.  I hope to soon tour Greenmount Cemetery and post about seeing Josephine Bonaparte and John Wilkes Booth’s graves along with so many other famous and infamous Baltimoreans .  And here is a question to ponder, why does the automatic spell check thing in all programs underline Baltimoreans as if it’s spelled wrong.  How are we supposed to spell it? Baltimorians?  Nope, that’s not it.

Anyway, back to the Art. I would love to know who painted this.  I believe that a few MICA students take it upon themselves to produce Art around town and kind of challenge each other to see what they can produce and on what urban canvas they can produce it upon.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

