Stickin’ it to The Man, Baltimore Style 2, Electric Boogaloo!

Hey guys, remember a few months ago when I posted photos of the toilet that had been strategically placed on a newly built traffic circle in Charles Village? You do, don’t you?!

Well dig this; I was back in Charles Village today because I needed to get a cashier’s check for my closing costs on the house that Anna and I just bought in Original Northwood.  Now I had to go to the dump/recycling center on Sisson St. so I had originally decided to go to the Bank Of America on the Avenue in Hampden; NOT the Bof A in Charles Village. Another good reason to avoid the BofA in Charles Village is that Johns Hopkins is back in session and that BofA is always jammed with new students and their families at the beginning of a new school year.

So I park on West 36th St and start walking to the bank when I realize that there are at least 5 Baltimore City Police cruisers on both sides of the street.  I saw 2 cops with a shirtless guy in handcuffs and my first thought was that it was the typical learning disabled/drug addled trouble maker up to no good.  Then I noticed that police were coming out of the bank.  Another potential bank customer asked an officer if the bank was closed and the officer calmly and politely said, “It is for now.”  So apparently the shirtless troublemaker was possibly a nudist bank robber!  In my fantasy, he was a normal bank robber that realized that his hold up attempt was going south fast, so to avoid detection and flummox the authorities, he took his shirt off to blend in.  I mean, that would be genius, right?!

Okay so you know why I was in Charles Village.  Remember that traffic circle I mentioned?  Today, no toilet, but something very Archie Bunker-esque. Check it out!

Sit a spell, kick your shoes off.

And another angle:

“mister we could use a man like Herbert Hoover again”

My friend, Carrie Arkwright, got some good shots of this too and has posted them on facebook.  Isn’t this great?!  There is even a torn paperback on the table.  Nice mise en scene!

Baltimore City should just break down and commission a post-modern art masterpiece for this traffic circle so people stop driving over it.  Somebody call Mary Pat Clarke!

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stickin’ it to The Man, Baltimore Style 2, Electric Boogaloo!

  1. Pingback: Stickin’ it to The Man, Baltimore Style 2, Electric Boogaloo! « baltimore boy

  2. Nice touch with the paperback….the table just needs a lamp and a cup of tea…love it.
    Anyone heard back from Mary Pat yet? LOL

    P.S. Congrats on the house!

Leave a Reply

