My Baltimore Books-Bawlamer!

I have been meaning to blog about my little collection of “Baltimore Books”.  Some I’ve had since I was young and some I’ve purchased over the past 15 years or so.  It is indeed a small collection but it means a lot to me and today I’m going to showcase a book that I actually had a long time ago, but managed to lose over the years and then found again at NORML’s book store in Waverly.

And allow me to give major props to NORML’s because they do indeed have a great selection of books that are Baltimore and Maryland-centric.  Anyway, here’s the book.  It’s called, “BAWLAMER!” An informal guide to a livelier baltimore.  Yep, small “b” Baltimore.  It was put together by the Livelier Baltimore Committee of the Citizens Planning and Housing Association.  It’s from 1976 and it is not in great shape but it is filled with stuff that reminds me of the Baltimore of my youth.

Here’s the Cover!

It’s supposed to be a kid in clown face, I think. Kinda scary, isn’t it?

Something I want to do is try to find things that are listed in this book that I know are long gone.  Meaning, when I see a restaurant’s address and I KNOW that it’s not there anymore, I want to go and see what’s there, NOW….if anything!  Let’s look one up, shall we?  Here we go; Schellhase’s, 412 N. Howard St. 685-6783.Was the home of Mencken’s Saturday Night Club(his beer stein is retired under glass) German and American fare with a liberal seafood menu. Entrees range from $3.50(knockwurst) to $7.95(t-bones).  One of the best cucumber salads around.

That’s a verbatim retyping of the Schellhase’s entry.  Cool, right?

It’s essentially an encyclopedia of Baltimore sights, sounds, flavors and happenings. It has a section about Baltimore’s burgeoning homesteading program that was underway in the 70’s.  Here’s the photo that accompanies that.

Dig that beautiful window and that half-naked homesteader.(new name of the band)

Bawlamer also has a bunch of fun ink illustrations by 7 or 8 different artists I think these two that I’m going to show you were done by Ralph Brown.

these two are going dancing! Oh the 70’s!

Sloppy Drunk Guy-gotta love him!

Don’t these two illustrations have a kind of Shel Silverstein feel?  The more I go into this book the more it starts to fall apart so I’m going to stop here, but i just adore this damned thing and could pick through it all night, just like I did when I was a boy.

I might make this my screen saver!

 

 

 

 

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

