BaltimoreBoy Abides!

Help me, help you!

Somebody found my blog today by doing a search for, “Insane asylum Conowingo Dam”. Now I know that I have mentioned the Conowingo Dam in a previous blog but I don’t recall talking about insane asylums.  Now I remember, I probably wrote how Memorial Stadium was lovingly referred to as “The World’s Largest Outdoor Insane Asylum” during the Baltimore Colts glory years.

Anywhoodle!

I figured that I’d totally kill two birds by posting some photos of Spring Grove Mental Hospital AND The Conowingo Dam! So here goes.  Back in 1989, I was lucky enough to be cast as a singing juvenile delinquent in John Waters, “Crybaby”.  The scenes that I was in were shot at Spring Grove.  It was run down, spooky and creepy.  It looked just like these photos.

Oddly enough, this looks like it could be in Charles Village

Some curtains, maybe?

I love this stonework! Gothic, yes? Now check out this room that is perfect for some stupid ghost hunting show on cable TV.

It also looks a lot like the loony bin scenes from “12 Monkeys”

It’s funny, I don’t recall Terry Gilliam shooting in Spring Grove, but I’ll be damned if I can’t almost see my old buddy, Bruce Willis and Brad Pitt in there.

I’m so name droppy right now!

Oh Yeah and here is what I believe is an A. Aubrey Bodine photo of the Conowingo Dam. So, enjoy, Hons!

Looks like a painting, right?

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BaltimoreBoy Abides!

  1. Drewdy says:

    Nize……..

Leave a Reply

