Stickin’ It To The Man, Baltimore Style!!

So I was tooling around my old neighborhoods of Waverly and Charles Village today and came across a recently added traffic circle thingy at the intersection of 32nd Street and Guilford Avenue.  Every time I see it, I realize that I’ve forgotten that Baltimore City, probably at the behest of the Charles Village Benefits District organization, put it there.  I guess it’s a good idea.  I lived in Charles Village forever and don’t recall there ever being a problem with traffic there.  So who knows? I don’t think it’s a bad thing at all.  Whatever, right?!

Anyway, I see it, I note it, I go about my business on Greenmount Avenue.  When I head back toward Charles Village proper, I drive on 32nd Street and when I come to the traffic circle, I see this!

Skip to the loo, my darling! Get it?

Yes, that is a toilet.  In the approximate 20 minutes between seeing it the first time and the return trip, west on 32nd Street; someone stuck a crapper on the traffic circle.  Of course, I had to park the Honda and get out and snap some photos.  Let’s look a little closer shall we?

Spent porcelain and cheap bubbly. Mmm.mm.. good!

At first I thought that maybe it had fallen off a Len the Plumber truck or something, but then it hit me that it probably wouldn’t land sitting straight up.  Charles Village is crawling with Art and Artists so I figured it was some kind of impromptu Art installation.  Note that there is a bottle of cheap bubbly sitting next to it and I know it’s hard to see, but there are flowers sticking up out of the tank.  That made my brain really buzz.  I wondered if this was some kind of Poe Toaster knock off.  If you don’t know, the Poe Toaster was a cloaked figure who left cognac and three black roses at Edgar Allan Poe’s grave in the middle of the night every January 19th for years.  The Poe Toaster hasn’t worked his magic the last 2 or 3 years, leaving many of us to conclude that the Toaster is either dead or extremely “over it”.  Maybe it’s a person who wishes to accept the mantle of the Poe Toaster and did this as a warm up for next January.  Might be worth hovering over Poe’s grave at Westminster Church, just one more cold-ass winter night.

While I was deep in thought about the zany possibilities, I noticed a US Mail letter carrier give the traffic circle the twice over.  I just knew she was asking herself, “has that always been there??!”  Let’s see one last shot of it….

Might it be the work of the Poop Toaster?

As I was climbing back into my car, a woman walked by and said, “I guess someone is sick of driving over that thing!”  By Jove! She is probably right.  It is a new traffic circle and it isn’t terribly defined or high.  I bet people drive right over it all the time.  So essentially this is some good-spitited, artsy protest!  I love it!

I don’t need to know who did it, but I am dying to know if it was indeed at least slightly inspired by the Baltimore tradition of the Poe Toaster.  Get the word out and get back to me.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stickin’ It To The Man, Baltimore Style!!

  1. Karen Newell says:

    It’s the poo toaster.

  2. Pingback: Stickin’ It To The Man, Baltimore Style! | Baltimore Or Less

  3. Too damned funny. Have to call my bestie in Baltimore to ask if he saw it. This should flush the perpetrators out -sorry couldn’t help it-

Leave a Reply

