Baltimore Boy, Scott Carberry Runs For City Council!

Many of you reading this already know that my candidacy for Baltimore City Council, 5th District is official.  I am already experiencing an interesting feature of running for public office, that being that I’ve been contacted by organizations for interviews so that they may determine which candidate they will support in the election.  I really look forward to this process and I almost can’t believe that I’m being contacted so quickly.  I filed my paperwork just this past Wednesday!  I feel that I should offer my campaign platform here in my blog, which, of course, means that it will also post to my facebook pages.  I did start a separate facebook page for the campaign.  I think that it will give me a more realistic idea of just how many people I’m actually reaching through social media.  Anyway, I will try to copy and paste my platform for your perusal.  Thank you, Baltimore.  Thank you, everyone

Scott M. Carberry for Baltimore City Council, 5th Council District

I feel that to improve the future of Baltimore we must make every effort to improve our present.  If we are able to start implementing the simple ideas in this outline, we will be taking steps in the right direction; improving the lives of all Baltimoreans and strengthening our city for many years.

  • If elected, I promise to explore the possibility of expanding or instituting the teaching of environmental studies in our public schools.   I would propose that these learning objectives be introduced to students no later than the 5th grade so that they begin to take hold, become truly learned and develop into a way of life for Baltimore’s children.  The ultimate goal being that we enable a more responsible citizenry and create a cleaner and healthier environment for every succeeding generation.
  • I will work very hard to attract manufacturing jobs to the 5th district.  It is my desire to talk to any manufacturing interest of any size and do my best to convince them that Baltimore, particularly the 5th district is a viable location for their operation.  The main requirement for any prospective manufacturer is that they utilize environmentally sound manufacturing processes.
  • I believe that Baltimore City should continue to remove buildings that are beyond rehabbing.  Whenever possible, the remaining lots should be converted into green spaces so that our citizens are never too far from a natural setting.  If elected, I will make every effort to aid and grow the community farming movement, not only in my district, but throughout Baltimore.  I also wish to expand our single stream recycling program to include more diverse recyclables.
  • If elected, I vow to do everything in my power to avoid the closing of any firehouses in the 5th district and throughout Baltimore City.  I will also do everything that I can to ensure that the Baltimore Police Department continues to hire and train the very finest officers and that they be afforded the proper tools and training to responsibly and creatively enforce the law and keep us all safe.
  • If I am elected to Baltimore City Council, I will propose to the Mayor and my fellow council members that we agree upon an increased population goal.  That population goal figure should also include a date of realization so that we may continually chart our progress toward that goal.  This should be pursued the same way that a business pursues sales growth figures.

It is my sincerest wish to serve the people of Baltimore City and I respectfully request the consideration of your vote.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in baltimore, Baltimore City Council, Baltimore City Council Election, baltimore history, baltimore police, Baltimore Politics, Baltimore Sun Newspaper, baltimore tourism, Campaign Platform, Carberry, crime, Fire, history, maryland history, md, media, Mt. Washington, news, pimlico race course, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baltimore Boy, Scott Carberry Runs For City Council!

  1. J. Kelly Lane says:

    Love the platform, Scott.

  2. Allan says:

    Sounds great!

Leave a Reply

