West Baltimore Random

A few blogs back I talked about my attempts to find Carberry Lane in Southwest Baltimore.  I mentioned how I had to make 2 trips to properly nail down where this thoroughfare bearing my last name was, simply because it is so short and small that it’s barely an alley.  For the record, I won’t be acting as metaphor for Carberry Lane as I am neither short or small.  Thank you.

What IS easy to find due to its’ abundance is the funny and weird.  It would be easy to express dismay at why some of the funny and weird is abundant, namely, Baltimore’s dwindling population and increasing vacant houses.  I am only going to provide two little examples because those were the only photos I took that day that weren’t of Carberry Lane.  Actually, I took some photos of this falling down old brewery too, but the structure was so massive and my camera phone so rinky-dink, that I just couldn’t get an image that conveyed any real sense of place, but I digress.

If you don’t know, Baltimore is full of art and artists, and many of them use Baltimore’s vacant houses as canvas.  This stuff is ALL OVER Baltimore and I think it is brilliant.  I should do a blog that is exclusive and extensive of this subject but for now you can dig this piece of art I found on a vacant house that also had beautiful, trash strewn marble steps.  Of course, virtually every rowhouse in Baltimore has beautiful marble steps and sometimes they are trash strewn even if someone lives there.  Anyway, here is the Art that was drawn on the plywood that covered the door to a house on either South Arlington Street or South Carey Street in SoWeBo.

The Wombat Man of West Baltimore

Now I’m sorry that it’s laying on it’s side like that but I was having a hell of a time trying to rotate it, so turn your laptop sideways.  To give you an idea of its dimensions, I would say that it’s 4 ft x 3 ft, or thereabouts.

Remember, this stuff is all over and I definitely have seen this artist’s work on other distressed properties.

I have another photo.  This isn’t art, but I found it to be hysterical and it was literally around the corner from the house with our Wombat Man on it.

Question; Will the house make ME sexier?

So that’s it.  I hope that I didn’t bore you too much, now go find art in your city…and then buy a sexy house!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in art, baltimore, baltimore history, baltimore tourism, Carberry, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to West Baltimore Random

  1. Paul Cahill says:

    I think I saw the Wombat Man in New Hampshire as well. Maybe he travels…..

  2. The artist is GAIA. His stuff is all over town. Now he’s being commissioned to paint them, which is awesome!

Leave a Reply

