Baltimore’s Penn Station-The Weird Things I Found!

Hey Kiddies!  Just a quick hit here, but I could  not resist sharing three interesting and/or odd things I found in Penn Station yesterday.

Just a little backstory; I journeyed to Washington DC to see my friend, Matt and to meet his wife, Anna.  I have not seen Matt in exactly 23 years.  We knew each other when I was in the Marines and stationed in Hawaii.  Matt dated the best friend of the girl I dated and of course through  the magic of the internet we have managed to reconnect.  He lives in Fayetteville, Arkansas so his trip to DC was a unique chance to catch up.  It was a damn  fine visit, I must say.

I always drive to DC and I’m not sure why.  I love being on trains and I had never taken advantage of the MARC train.  MARC stands for Maryland Regional Commuter, I think.  The time was nigh to make that happen.  Even better is that I could take the Light Rail to Penn Station, catch the MARC train to DC and then just take a cab over to their hotel in Adams Morgan; about a mile away from Dupont Circle in Northwest DC.

Because I’m a goofball and I love to walk, I walked the 4 miles back to DC’s Union Station and caught the 4:40 MARC train back to Baltimore.  Upon arrival I ventured down to the slightly spooky area in Penn Station where one can jump back on the Light Rail.  This is where I found three amazing things.

First, I saw this incredibly old and beautiful elevator door.  I apologize for the darkness of the photo, but it was night time and my phone doesn’t have a flash, so let’s see how this looks.

It's like an elevator door from "Hudsucker Proxy" or "Brazil", It's one dramatic elevator.

Now the last two items are kind of silly but check out this trash can.  I KNOW that this photo doesn’t even come close to conveying a true idea of how absolutely HUGE this trash can is.  It is so big, that I wasn’t sure that it even was a trash can.  It’s like the garbage can of a giant.  GO LOOK FOR YOURSELF!!

in my fantasy, a serial killer works at Penn Station...this is where he keeps the bodies.

The superfun part of this is that as I explored this area, I found some random bits of graffiti-here is the greatest bit of random graffiti in the world.

this is true, but that's not my phone number.

Oops, I thought it said, “Scott Smells Feet”  but that’s even funnier!!  Isn’t that awesome!?

Anyway, I love trains and train stations and I love the fact that Baltimore’s Penn Station played a featured role in at least two episodes of “Homicide: Life on the Street” and has appeared in Bill Griffith’s “Zippy The Pinhead” comic strip;  so if you haven’t taken a train ride in awhile, head down to Penn Station, grab a train to DC or Philly or wherever and make sure you seek out the Light Rail stairway and find your own weird treasures….maybe you will find graffiti about your pedi-proclivities!

All aboard!

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in art history, baltimore, baltimore history, Baltimore Sun Newspaper, baltimore tourism, Carberry, film in Baltimore, film locations, history, Homicide Life on the street, life, maryland history, md, Mt. Vernon, NBC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baltimore’s Penn Station-The Weird Things I Found!

  1. Baltimore’s Penn Station is indeed a colorful place! It also happens to play a role in my upcoming novel in stories, Tracks! The book opens in Penn Station and takes place on a train traveling from Baltimore to Chicago.

    Look for Tracks in bookstores (and maybe even in Penn Station) June 30, 2011.

  2. Eric, I look forward to it!

Leave a Reply

