Burn, Baltimore, Burn!

Well there have been 2 fires recently that are distinct in that they have occurred in historical places in Baltimore and this blog is just a quick little doff of the cap to the quality of some of the photographic images that have appeared in the Baltimore Sun and other blogs.  I just think that they display that metaphorical, “eye” that is oft referred to in visual arts and artists.

This first one is kind of spookily reminiscent of 9/11 and it comes from the fire that occurred on The Block, Baltimore’s storied and infamous Red Light District.  Could you imagine terrorists flying  planes into the Gayety Burlesque??!

lapdances postponed!

This is a cool aerial shot and I’m dying to know how the photographer was able to get into position to get this shot so close to the action.  Ironically, the line,”The Block’s on fire” was used by Baltimore Hip-Hop artist, Bossman in one of his songs.  My how prescient!

Luckily they have a fireproof box for the stripper heels

I like that this one looks like a postcard.

Wish you were here!!

The last shot is from the fire that hit beautiful, Mt Vernon and was in the Sun.  Truly a shame that anything could be  destroyed in this historical and gorgeous neighborhood.  Mt Vernon is so amazing that it just reinforces my pride of being a Baltimorean.  It just makes sense that in this photo it appears that George Washington is directing the efforts of Baltimore’s Fire Department.

Hey Guys! There is another hydrant on Madison Street!!

Isn’t that shot amazing?  I think it was taken by Kim Hairston of the Baltimore Sun.

For as good as this photojournalism is, I hope that we suffer no more loss of life and history due to fire.  A foolish hope maybe but a sincere one.

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in art, art history, baltimore, baltimore history, Baltimore Sun Newspaper, film locations, Fire, history, life, maryland history, md, media, museums, photography, statues and monuments, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Burn, Baltimore, Burn!

  1. Carrie O. says:

    hahaha, i love the captions you wrote for each photo. Too funny.,

  2. Alegria Imperial says:

    Thank you for this post! No, you’re not the only one who’s fascinated with Baltimore. I am, deep in my heart. And I’m not even a Baltimorean–just someone who lived in Federal Hill for five years half of the year. My haiku and longer poems almost all bring me back to Baltimore–my first winning haiku is an image of a twilight haiku moment under a canopy of cherry blossoms on Riverside… I could fill up this space with loads of the same but all I wanted to write here again is ‘thank you’. Please post more of ‘our’ beloved city.

  3. alee9 says:

    And here’s the winning haiku, my first published haiku and the only entry I submitted when I just arrived as an immigrant here in Canada:

    cherry tree
    shedding petals at dusk–
    moths in flight

    Alegria Imperial
    honourable mention
    2007 Vancouver Cherry Blossom Festival Haiku Invitational

    I’m sure you recognize it! Thanks again for your blog.

Leave a Reply

