Sinful&Sweet…Baltimore in a Cupcake

The cupcake as a gourmet item has kind of exploded the past few years.  They are kind of the culinary equivalent of cigars in the ’80’s and anyone with basic cable has seen the proliferation of cupcake shows on their TV.  Baltimore has it’s share of cupcake places but I gotta make sure that I talk one of them up.  That one is Sweet Sin Bakery at the corner of 27th and Howard streets in Remington.

Cupcakes are awesome in general, right?  And if you have ever gone to your gourmet cupcake shop, I’m sure that you have been blown away by the yummy; but Sweet Sin is DIABOLICAL!

They have this crazy array of flavor combos, I mean, too many for me to remember after three visits but I’ll put a photo up here that doesn’t do the selection justice.

Look at this Rainbow Coalition of Yummy!

Of course they also do muffins and I want to highlight some great customer service while I’m at it.  Last Friday I felt compelled to ruin an incredible workout by stopping by Sweet Sin.  I couldn’t quite figure out what I wanted to accompany my huge coffee.  The young lady behind the counter mentioned that she had some Gingerbread muffins coming out of the oven in 5 minutes.  Done deal.  So I sit down, start reading the new Urbanite, enjoy a really cool conversation with a gent named, Ramon who was rehabbing a house by himself around the corner and in the middle of this, the young lady stops by to ask if I wanted the Gingerbread muffin with cranberries or without….WITH PLEASE!

She brought out this steaming goodness that made my eyeballs roll back into my head.  This muffin has ensconced itself in the top 5 best things I’ve ever eaten…I mean, it’s up there, man!

So damned good that I took Anna there a couple of days later and all of a sudden we started thinking about doing cupcakes as opposed to a wedding cake.  That’s part of zany, cupcake trend!

I’ve neglected to mention that all of the cupcakes and muffins are gluten-free!  I’ve eaten a lot of gluten-free dessert items and they are fine.  These are incredible!  The Chef and owner, Renee DeSouza, has definitely nailed this process.

So go see the fine people at this cute storefront in Remington, Baltimore, Maryland, US of A.

You know you wanna go!

Just google Sweet Sin bakery Baltimore to check out the website!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in baltimore, Baltimore restaurants, charles village, dessert, life, md, society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sinful&Sweet…Baltimore in a Cupcake

  1. Caitlin says:

    YUM! Cupcakes and gluten free are two of my favorite things!

Leave a Reply

