The Reason Why Baltimore is the Greatest City in America for Running!

So a couple of days ago I went for a run and in case you don’t know it, Baltimore is a great city to run in.  No, it’s not particularly “runner friendly” as far as specified lanes that runners can use to avoid getting whomped by a car goes; and  I’ve actually been whomped by a car while running so please remind me to tell you that story someday.

What I’m referring to is all of the bizarre things that one can encounter while running in Baltimore City and I probably should do a blog where I recount every weird thing I’ve ever seen but for now I will focus on what I saw the other day.  I love the available variety of roadways to choose from and that day I felt like running along Northern Parkway heading west from my house around Pimlico Racetrack, past Park Heights Avenue on to Reisterstown road.  So it’s kinda like-pretty houses and trees and then smaller houses and fewer trees and lots of cars and lots of Caribbean Jerk restaurants and what I like to call, Kosher 7-11’s.  It’s an AWESOME mix, I love it!

welcome to Park Heights!!

ANYWAY….I made my turn for home and as I started chugging in an easterly direction on Northern Parkway I noticed something pink in the gutter and as I got closer I just had to stop to make sure I knew what I was seeing and I’ll be damned if it isn’t one of these fun little things.

I'm waiting for First Response "Platinum"

Now it isn’t that odd to find trash in the gutter and streets and sidewalks along thoroughfares in large cities but the fact that it was a home pregnancy test, obviously thrown from a car,  just made my freaky little head swim with images.

For the last 2 miles home I daydreamed of a super-fine classy lady peeing on a stick in a moving car!!  Oh I got so giddy and dizzy with the mere thought of it…I mean, here’s a John Waters moment that even he hadn’t thought of yet.  I’m tingling just thinking about it now.

Anyway, that’s it.  Just thought that I would share this nugget of life here in crabtown.  Can’t wait to run tomorrow!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in baltimore, baltimore history, cinema, film directors, film in Baltimore, film locations, John Waters, life, md, media, Mt. Washington, pregnancy, race relations, running, society and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

