So Many Treasures Left Undiscovered

Figaro's Shop by Jose Jimenez Aranda

Today, Anna and I ventured to the Walters Art Museum.  We had tried to go there a few Mondays back, but like a lot of things in Baltimore in the summer, it’s closed on Monday.  I love museums, always have; and going with Anna is also really neat due to the fact that she is an Art Teacher and she is often able to answer questions about technique, media and history and all sorts of artsy stuff!

Without fail, every time I visit a museum, I see at least one work that just stops me in my tracks.  In the past I’ve been reduced to trembling while gazing upon Rodin’s “Burghers of Calais”; strengthened by the power of Bigot’s, “Judith’s Beheading of Holofernes” and just tickled to be looking at Jasper Johns’ “Three Flags”.  The second painting on that list resides in the Walters and today I saw another piece in the WAM that was striking in it’s photographic realism.  So brilliant that I had to return to it twice to revel in it.  The painting is titled, “Figaro’s Shop” by the Spanish painter, Jose Jimenez Aranda.  The binary code reproduction that I post in this blog won’t be nearly as jaw-dropping as seeing it in person.  It belongs to  the Walters so it will probably be available for viewing for quite awhile.

Another tidbit that I should pass along is that the Walters Art Museum and the Baltimore Museum of Art are free, with the exception of a cover for special exhibits.  Any of you who might be reading this who might visit Baltimore someday should bear this in mind.  The collections in our museums are world class.  If you live in Baltimore, get on down to a museum and take advantage of these wonderful monuments to the power of the human imagination, hand and eye.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So Many Treasures Left Undiscovered

  1. Kelly says:

    Love the Walters!

  2. Thanks for the kind words about the Walters!
    Check out the new microsite for the museum’s fall exhibition at http://thewalters.org/exhibitions/walter-wick/about.html.

  3. Drewdy says:

    I bet it’s fun to go with Anna. I know I really like going with Violet cuz they know so much more than us common folk.

  4. Carrie O. says:

    Figaro’s Shop looks like it would be great to see at the Walters! Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

