Take this THING back to Baltimore!!

There has been a lot of talk over the past few years about the downturn of movie production in MD.  My cousin, Violet has written the latest and best piece explaining this dwindling of filming.  It appears in the May issue of Baltimore Magazine and I assure you that it is indeed a good read.  If you can’t find it on your newsstand, I am sure that it appears online.  I mean, doesn’t everything.

She explains how the lack of tax incentives almost automatically precludes Maryland from attracting movie productions from even considering shooting here.  It’s crazy how a movie that is set in MD, won’t be filmed here, right!?

There was a boom  in the 90’s but that was primarily from TV’s “Homicide” and that, of course, convinced HBO that they should actually film “The Wire” here.  This won’t be a scholarly piece but I will drop a bit of info that seems to not be part of the discussion.  That tidbit is that we were being overlooked years ago.

Every time I see, “Silence of the Lambs” I think to myself that i just can’t place the buildings used for the ‘Baltimore” scenes in the movie.  Well I went to my trusty imdb.com and checked out filming locations for the movie and it appears that they went everywhere but Baltimore.  As a matter of fact the “Baltimore” scenes were shot in Pittsburgh.  PITTSBURGH!?

I know that the director, Johnathon Demme, is from Philadelphia, but really!  Sounds like a case of lazy location scout to me.  The movie was released in 1991 and during that time period, if I am not mistaken, the tax incentives for film production were in place at that time.

For fun, think of a movie that features Baltimore and go to imdb.com and look on the left hand side of the screen and click on film locations and see if they even bothered.

the title of this blog is the best line from, “Silence of the Lambs”.

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in actors, art, baltimore, baltimore history, cinema, film directors, film in Baltimore, film locations, foreign films, history, John Waters, life, maryland history, md, media, movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take this THING back to Baltimore!!

  1. Allan says:

    Yeah, if you google “movies filmed in Baltimore 2010” the first link is to a 2003 Sun article about ladder 49. It’s really a damn shame, but I don’t know if tax incentives could be passed with the state’s funds right now, would be cool though.

Leave a Reply

