Oooohh, Woodberry Kitchen…How’d You Get So Good? Probably the Best Restaurant in Baltimore.

Anna and I went to the Woodberry Kitchen for our Anniversary dinner and it was perfect!  Of course, with the advent of Open Table, you can drop info about your special event into your reservation if you want to.  Because I am a genius, I had suggested to Anna that we get married on 11/11/11. It’s not only a cool-ass date but Anna’s Birthday is 11/12.  So Anna entered this info into our reservation and when we were being seated the host was nice enough to thank us for joining them for both events.  That was nifty.

Dinner was amazing.  Let me say this as a guy who has spent nearly 30 years working in food, most of it in pretty darn good restaurants in Baltimore and New York City: There is no wasted motion.  I guess what I mean is that the service is almost what you would expect at more formal fine dining establishments.  That means that anything soiled was replaced.  Silverware, plates, etc. I know that this seems small but it’s HUGE.  It’s the difference between eating in a bar or a good restaurant.  Enough about that.

When it comes to what’s on your plate, everything has a purpose and is complimentary to your main course.  Anna had the crabcake, which was wonderful by the way, not just some throw-some-oldbay-on-it type of crabcake.but big, beautiful and broiled. I had a gorgeous Rockfish filet.  Both dishes had some subtle brush strokes of accompaniment, but both plates did have cauliflower.  Redundant? No. The cauliflower with the Crabcake was grilled, with the Rockfish it was pickled.  This seems small but it isn’t.  Trust me.

Of course, dessert was amazing too.  Anna got that crazy sundae thingy called, CMP…I think.  I got butterscotch pudding because I LOVE REAL PUDDING!  Anyway, I only took a photo of my dessert which is probably a welcome thing because food blogging can, at times, be a bit overbearing with the photos.  But I want you to dig the writing on the plate that my pudding was served on.  Check it!

Image

And Anna’s plate had ‘Happy Birthday’ written in chocolate.  It was such a satisfying night.  To top it off, we only had to pay for a portion of it because we received a Woodberry Kitchen gift card from our realtor, Grant Warner-his way of saying thanks for a referral.  If you need to buy or sell a house, I’ll give you his number and then go to dinner again!!! I am a diabolical find dining mastermind!!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oooohh, Woodberry Kitchen…How’d You Get So Good? Probably the Best Restaurant in Baltimore.

  1. Drewdy says:

    ooooooooo…..yum. I know you appreciate those little touches. Congratulations to you both!

Leave a Reply

