Mick King’s Foolproof Mirth-Making Silly Thingy!!

Upon learning of Mick’s death last week, I declared that I would be blogging a lot about him and our time as roommates, co-workers, jackasses, etc.  It’s no secret that I have been lagging desperately behind in my promise to do so.  First, let’s take a look at Mick in his natural habitat, literally hanging out of Baltimore’s famous, Mt. Royal Tavern.

Would you buy a drink from this man? Fuck yes, you would!

That photo appeared with Frederick Rasmussen’s excellent obituary of Mick that appeared in the Baltimore Sun that was also featured in the most excellent Blog, Baltimore or Less.

Early on in our friendship, Mick introduced me to a little comedic device;  I don’t know if he made it up or if he had learned it from someone else but he gave me the gift of replacing the word “LOVE” with the word, “LUNCH”, in the refrain or title of popular songs.  Confused? Don’t be.  It’s easy! Here’s an example; The Beatles, “All you Need is Love” becomes, “All you Need is Lunch” don’t just say it or think it…sing it!  See!? It’s silly and funny!  Here are a few of our favorites:

Air SUpply: I'm lost in lunch and I don't know much...OR...Makin' lunch, outta nothin' at all!

And how about big, bad ass Led Zeppelin?!

"Gotta Whole Lotta Lunch"(insert guitar pick slide here)

And what about the Hottest band in the world…KISS!!!

"They call me Doctor Lunch, They call me Doctor Lunch..DOCTOR LUUUU-UUNCH!"

Now this is still my personal favorite, have fun with this Pat Benatar classic

"Lunch is a Battlefield"(boom-ba-boom-ba-boom-boom-boom)

I apologize for the uneven staging of the photos and their intros, but I’m still totally clueless when it comes to wrangling this here blog thing.  I probably do this LUNCH/LOVE thing at least once a day and it is only one little gift that I carry from my days spent with Mick King.

 

 

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

