Baltimore Boy’s Dream Job!!!??

Maybe some of you know that my beloved Baltimore Orioles are searching for a new ballpark announcer for Camden Yards?  Maybe you don’t.  Well the fact is, that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is without a public address voice for the first time in 14 years.  The Orioles were good enough to post this info on Orioles.com and the reason they posted it is because they opened up the job to anybody who wants to audition/apply for the position.  Isn’t that zany!

Well you just know that I had to send in my audition to the O’s!!  The Orioles provided three sample scripts that I had to read and record as an MP3.  Luckily for me, the same amazing couple, Katie and Jason Shinsato, that filmed me for my Baltimore City Council run, were also able to help me record the audition voice over stuff.

As someone who was lucky enough to spend time with and admire the great, Rex Barney, it’s just such a cool thing to be able to try out for.  Hey, howzabout a photo of the late, great, Brooklyn Dodger Fireballer and former voice of Memorial Stadium and OPACY, Rex Barney.

Thank Yoooouuuu, Scott for your kind words.

And here’s the cover of his book!

Oddly enough, no chapter about me.

Can you imagine how wonderful it would be for a guy like me to go to work at the ballpark everyday?  I mean, dig the view!

"Give that fan a loquacious lemur!

See!  How cool to see that from my desk 81 days a year!

I, of course, haven’t heard back from the Orioles yet and I doubt that I will even get a call back, but I feel GREAT about my audition recording so who knows!?

Go O’s!

About scottcarberry

I'm one nifty dude who is fascinated by his hometown; Baltimore, MD. It is persistently beautiful and ugly and I wish to live nowhere else ever again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

